Send secure, self-destructing messages with BURN.link 🔥 BURN.link is a simple and secure way to send sensitive information like passwords and account credentials. It lets you create self-destructing messages that are permanently deleted once viewed.
@jean_luc_winkler I have the same question. What problem are you solving?
Report
@mickc79 none that are related to this product so I prefer not to discuss here in order to keep this threat about burn.link. Feel free to hit me up on LinkedIn or schedule a meeting via my website to find out wich problems/challenges I currently tackle.
@jean_luc_winkler Sorry I'm not being difficult here I just genuinely don't understand. I've asked what problem this product solves, so surely that is entirely relevant to... this product.
Report
@mickc79 Ah okay, got it, sorry. I was misinterpreting your question.
In my case, the tool does not solve a problem at the moment. I do not need to send disposable text to someone else.
I can imagine this as part of another tool or a feature (like snapchat for video content, when you want to send sensitive content to someone else).
However, I do not have any use-cases myself at the moment and thus asked the question to find out, what others say to get some inspiration - so we basically have the same intention here ;-)
Let's wait and see, if other users tell us more about their use-cases.
@jean_luc_winkler@mickc79 Hi there. One of the primary use cases for BURN.link is for sending sensitive information like passwords or account credentials. Unlike email or messaging apps, where the message could live on forever, and become accessible to bad actors in the future, BURN.link messages self-destruct once they are viewed by the intended recipient.
Report
Not good. What if I take screenshot or capture picture of this
@antivirusakash Hey Akash, thanks for checking out our project. Could you elaborate, do you mean if you take a screenshot of a message that is sent to you?
Report
@cody_mikol Yes... If I'm sending my friend something secret line, but he take screenshot and can send to others like passwords or something else
That's true, you should only be sending links to people you trust. Currently I've been using this to send new users of our websites their temporary login credentials. Once they see / decrypt the link it is wiped from our system.
I think the only way to prevent a person on the other end from sharing your secret is to never send them that secret in the first place ;)
Report
@cody_mikol@antivirusakash you can't share something and not have it be resharable. Also copying and pasting is much more convenient so a screenshot is not necessary.
Things like this are for sharing with people you can/want to trust. What it provides is a method of keeping it out of things like emails and task lists where a service could be hacked or viewed by others.
Report
@cody_mikol How long do you keep non-viewed secrets? Currently I use onetimesecret and they expire after 7 days. The reason I like this is that if I send a email with a username and a link to the password if the user does not open it the password (link to) is not sitting around in their inbox.
Songbox
Songbox
CollX
BURN.link
BURN.link
Meta Nutrition